Alabama A&M
Alabama State
Alcorn State
Jackson State
Mississippi Valley State
Prairie View
Texas Southern
Arkansas-Pine Bluff
It's On Us Banner
Molten volleyball
Home Depot RYS 50K
2018 Toyota C-HR
Article Image
Courtesy: SWAC.org

Prairie View Claims Bowling Regular Season Title

Courtesy: SWAC.org
Release: 02/19/2017
Print RSS

D’IBERVILLE, Miss. – The Prairie View A&M Panthers won the Southwestern Athletic Conference bowling regular season title on Sunday. 

The Panthers entered the final game of the regular season with a 19-4 record, which was one more win then its opponent, Texas Southern who entered the final game with an 18-5 record.  The Panthers defeated the Tigers 960-876 in the final game to finish at 20-4 and claim the regular season title.

Jackson State and Texas Southern would each finish the regular season at 18-6 with Jackson State having the edge in total pins (25,637-25,525) to take second place.  Alabama State finished in fourth place, Grambling State finished in fifth place, Southern finished in sixth place and Alabama A&M rounded out the standings. 

Denisyha Waller of Texas Southern was named the bowler of the year.  Waller was the only bowler to average a score over 200 for the regular season, knocking down 206.9 pins per contest.

Katelyn Dickerson won the freshman of the year award.  Dickerson made history by bowling a perfect 300 in the third game of the day.  Dickerson averaged 192.9 pins per game during conference play.     

The All-Conference team was also announced.  The complete All-Conference team is below:

            Bowler of the Year     

Denisyha Waller (Texas Southern)


Freshman of the Year     
Katelyn Dickerson (Prairie View A&M)


First Team
Denisyha Waller (Texas Southern) 
Katelyn Dickerson (Prairie View A&M)
Rebecca Hresko (Alabama State)
Lindsay Paredes (Prairie View A&M)
Marcella Sanchez (Jackson State)


Second Team
Alexes Burton (Prairie View A&M)
Brittany Kinney (Prairie View A&M)
Amanda Morgan (Prairie View A&M)
Kiara Smith (Jackson State)
Brianna Reid (Jackson State)


In which city where the SWAC doesn't currently hold a championship, would you like to see a conference championship held?
Shreveport, La.
Dallas, TX
Atlanta, Ga.
Little Rock, Ark.
Memphis, Tenn.
Gulf Shores, Ala.
Mobile, Ala.
Nashville, Tenn.