Alabama A&M
Alabama State
Alcorn State
Jackson State
Mississippi Valley State
Prairie View
Texas Southern
Arkansas-Pine Bluff
It's On Us Banner
Molten volleyball
Home Depot RYS 50K
2018 Toyota C-HR
Article Image
Courtesy: Chris Todd

Alabama State wins back-to-back Indoor T&F titles

Courtesy: SWAC.org
Release: 02/16/2018
Print RSS

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. – Alabama State successfully defended the Southwestern Athletic Conference men’s indoor track and field championship, becoming the first repeat winner since Texas Southern (2015-16) to defend the title after racking up 148 points.

Prairie View A&M finished second with 123.5 points, and Texas Southern finished third with 110 points. Jackson State scored 106 points to finish fourth, and Arkansas-Pine Bluff (70.5) was fifth. Completing the standings were Alabama A&M (55), Alcorn State (33) and Mississippi Valley State (9).

Alabama State coach Ritchie Beene was named 2018 SWAC Men’s Indoor Track and Field Coach of the Year. Prairie View’s Sunne Rodriguez-Weems and Tristian Ham were named Co-Most Outstanding Field Performers after each scoring 18 points over the two-day event. Texas Southern’s Jorge Martinez amassed 19 points over three events to win the meet’s Most Outstanding Track Performer.


Alabama A&M’s Akeem Samuels (17.19m; 56-04.75 ft) took home the gold medal in the weight throw, besting silver medalist Marquis Daniels (16.06m; 52-08.25 ft) of Alabama State. Arkansas-Pine Bluff’s Miles Dortch (15.29m; 50-02.00 ft) won the bronze. Prairie View A&M’s Sunne Rodriguez-Weems and Tristian Ham finished 1-2 in the men’s heptathlon, with Rodriguez-Weems winning the gold medal.

Alabama State’s Chaaka Trahan took third. Travis Bibbs of Arkansas-Pine Bluff won the triple jump with a leap of 15.48m (50-09.50 ft), with Jackson State Ryan Theyard (15.11m; 49-07.0 ft) taking silver and Harvey Kendall of Texas Southern (14.88m; 48-10.00m) winning the bronze. Joshua Hilliard of Jackson State clocked an 8.08-second mark in the 60-meter hurdles, good for first place. Terrance Adams of Alabama State (8.11) edged Prairie View A&M’s Logan Williams (8.15) to earn silver.

Alcorn State Bralon Robinson nabbed the 60-meter dash gold with a time of 6.74 seconds, with Josh Davis (6.759) and Norris Spike of Alabama State (6.76) taking silver and bronze. Davis later rebounded with a gold-medal performance in the 200-meter dash (20.94), fending off Alabama A&M’s DeTorrian Green (21.11) and Prairie View’s Samuel Omoera (21.19).

Alabama State’s Joshua Coffelt (4:22.85) earned the gold in the men’s mile run, with Arkansas-Pine Bluff’s Laural Heath (4:23.16) taking second and Jackson State’s Raheem Skinner (4:24.2) in third. Jackson State’s Vincent Langat overran the field during the 5,000-meter run, setting a new meet record with a 15:14.81 gold-medal winning time. JSU’s Henry Kiplagat (15:29) and Prairie View A&M’s Levante Williams (15:52.46) won the silver and bronze, respectively.

Alabama A&M’s Alex Ward set a new meet record in the 400-meter dash (47.19), beating out Prairie View A&M’s William Polley (47.68) and Alabama State’s Lezoghia Member-Meneh (48.31). UAPB also rewrote the record books as Wade Garner’s 1:51.41 mark in the 800m run was enough to take the gold. Alabama State’s Andrew Jackson (1:55.46) was second, and Heath finished third (1:55.98).

In the 4x400-meter relay, Prairie View A&M’s quartet – Logan Williams, Carl Jordan, Brandon Kirby and William Polley – took the top spot with a time of 3:13.60. Texas Southern finished second (3:14.90) and Alcorn State was third (3:20.40). Arkansas-Pine Bluff, Alabama State and Jackson State were each disqualified from the race.