Alabama A&M
Alabama State
Alcorn State
Jackson State
Mississippi Valley State
Prairie View
Texas Southern
Arkansas-Pine Bluff
It's On Us Banner
Molten volleyball
Home Depot RYS 50K
2018 Toyota C-HR
Article Image
Courtesy: Mike Trummel

Hernandez named First Team ABCA/Rawlings All-Region

Courtesy: Alabama State Sports Information
Release: 06/13/2018
Print RSS
All-Region Teams
MONTGOMERY, Ala. - Alabama State third baseman Ray Hernandez, a recent draftee of the Atlanta Braves, was named to the 2018 ABCA/Rawlings NCAA Division I All-Central Region team Wednesday morning.
Hernandez was among the nations best in several categories as he led Alabama State to the East Division championship in the Southwestern Athletic Conference (SWAC) this season. He finished the season hitting .379 with 11 home runs – both team highs for the Hornets – and finished with 45 runs batted in and 46 runs scored. He also connected on 12 doubles and led the team with a .601 slugging percentage as the Hornets made the semifinals of the conference tournament.
The senior was one of four players from the Southwestern Athletic Conference (SWAC) to earn the honor in the Central Region, but the only first team member. He joins second team selections Gaudencio Lucca (Texas Southern), Rafael Ramirez (Grambling State) and Kamren Dukes (Texas Southern).
The eight teams are voted on by members of the American Baseball Coaches Association and the process is led by the ABCA NCAA Div. I All-America Committee. ABCA/Rawlings All-Region First Team selections are nominated for ABCA/Rawlings All-America honors. The ABCA/Rawlings NCAA Division I All-Americans will be announced on Saturday, June 16.

The finalists for the ABCA/Rawlings NCAA Div. I Gold Glove Team will be announced on Twitter on Monday, June 18, and the Gold Glove Teams will be announced on Wednesday, June 20. In all divisions, ABCA National Pitchers of the Year will be announced on Monday, June 25, followed by ABCA National Position Players of the Year on Wednesday, June 27.

The Chair of the ABCA NCAA Division I All-America & Coach of the Year Committee is Tommy Raffo of Arkansas State University. Also on the committee is Dean Ehehalt of Monmouth University, Brian O'Connor of the University of Virginia, Butch Thompson of Auburn University, Jim Penders of the University of Connecticut, Steve Jaksa of Central Michigan University, Dan Heefner of Dallas Baptist University and George Horton of the University of Oregon.