Alabama A&M
Alabama State
Alcorn State
Jackson State
Mississippi Valley State
Prairie View
Texas Southern
Arkansas-Pine Bluff
It's On Us Banner
Molten volleyball
Home Depot RYS 50K
2018 Toyota C-HR
Article Image
Courtesy: SWAC.org

SWAC Baseball Players Receive Postseason Honors

Courtesy: SWAC.org
Release: 05/24/2017
Print RSS

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. – Several Southwestern Athletic Conference baseball players received postseason honors by being named to the Black College Nines Elite Team, it was announced Wednesday.

2017 SWAC Player, Hitter and Newcomer of the Year Marshawn Taylor of Grambling State was named the HBCU Player of the year for the large school division.  Taylor led the SWAC in several offensive categories during the regular season including batting average (.402) and hits (77).

2017 SWAC Freshman of the Year, Cage Cox of Alabama State was given the same honor by the Black College Nines.  Cox finished the regular season ranked fifth in the SWAC in batting average (.356).  The Cairo, Ga. native went 69-194 from the plate, including 17 doubles, with 45 runs scored, 40 RBIs and five home runs.

There were also several SWAC players who garnished first and second team honors.  On first team, Alabama State's Gustavo Rios, Ray Hernandez, Austin Bizzle, and Cox represented the Hornets.  Taylor would represent GSU and Miguel Yrigoyen of Jackson State gave the SWAC six of the 13 selections for first team.

For the second team, Cornelius Copeland and Jesus Santana of Jackson State, Olajide Oloruntimilehin of Texas Southern, Cody Den Beste of Prairie View A&M, Tray Bell of Grambling State and Tyler Howe of Alabama State made up six SWAC selections on second team and 12 overall.  


In which city where the SWAC doesn't currently hold a championship, would you like to see a conference championship held?
Shreveport, La.
Dallas, TX
Atlanta, Ga.
Little Rock, Ark.
Memphis, Tenn.
Gulf Shores, Ala.
Mobile, Ala.
Nashville, Tenn.