Alabama A&M
Alabama State
Alcorn State
Jackson State
Mississippi Valley State
Prairie View
Texas Southern
Arkansas-Pine Bluff
It's On Us Banner
Molten volleyball
Home Depot RYS 50K
2018 Toyota C-HR
Article Image
Courtesy: NCAA

NCAA tennis draws revealed for ALST, JKST

Courtesy: SWAC.org
Release: 05/02/2017
Print RSS

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. – The NCAA Division I Men's Tennis Subcommittee has selected the 64 teams and 16 first- and second-round sites for the 2017 NCAA Division I Men's Tennis Championship on Tuesday. Per NCAA policy, the top 16 seeds are guaranteed to host if a bid was submitted and criteria are met, and matchups between conference opponents were avoided in the first two rounds of the championship. 

First- and second-round competition takes place May 12-13 or May 13-14 for some women's matches and features four teams playing in a single-elimination format.  The winner of each site advances to the Dan Magill Tennis Complex in Athens, Georgia, where the 16 teams will compete for the national championship May 18-23 for the men's side and May 19-23 in the women's bracket.  The event will be hosted by the University of Georgia.

SWAC men's tennis runners up Jackson State (8-20) will be playing at No. 6 TCU (19-4) on Friday, May 12 at the Bayard H. Friedman Tennis Center in Fort Worth, TX.  Time is yet to be determined.

SWAC women's tennis champions Alabama State (13-8) drew No. 8 Georgia Tech (25-4) at the Ken Byers Tennis Complex in Atlanta, Ga. and will play either on May 12 or 13.  Time is yet to be determined. 

The matches shall be regulation dual matches. Three doubles matches consisting of six-game sets will be played for one team point, followed by six singles matches, each valued at one team point; played the best of three sets. No-ad scoring will be used and a seven-point tiebreaker (first to seven points, must win by two points) will be played at six-games-all. The team winning four or more team points advances in the championship bracket.

During the championships, all matches will be stopped after the doubles point is decided. All remaining individual matches will be stopped once a team winner (four points won) has been determined. The score will only reflect completed matches. The complete list of teams and sites is included on the official bracket, which is available at www.NCAA.com.