Alabama A&M
Alabama State
Alcorn State
Jackson State
Mississippi Valley State
Prairie View
Texas Southern
Arkansas-Pine Bluff
It's On Us Banner
Molten volleyball
Home Depot RYS 50K
2018 Toyota C-HR
Article Image
Courtesy: Jackson State Sports Media

All-SWAC Women’s Tennis teams released

Courtesy: SWAC.org
Release: 04/13/2017
Print RSS

BIRMINGHAM, AL – The 2017 All-SWAC Women’s Tennis Teams were released on Thursday by the conference office.

Jackson State earned the most recognition highlighted by a Player of the Year nod and one honor on the All-Conference Singles First Team and two additional pairings on the All-Conference Doubles First Team.

The Lady Tigers No. 1 position player Tyler Smith ran the table in conference play for an 8-0 record and was named the 2017 SWAC Women’s Tennis Player of the Year.  The junior from Bermuda was also slotted onto the All-Conference Singles First Team.

Jackson State excelled on the Doubles First Team as well with Smith teaming with Lucia Solio to boast a 5-1 record to snag the No. 2 Doubles First Team selection while partners Dasha Butorina and Nina Zhang were 5-0 at the No. 3 doubles position to also earn First Team honors.

Alcorn State’s Anastasia Vaganova (4-1) doubled as both the SWAC Women’s Tennis Freshman of the Year and was an All-Conference First Team selection at the No. 5 spot.

Prairie View A&M earned two First Team selection nods as Sydney Thomas earned that spot from the No. 3 position and Shaddae Finley was the top player at the No. 4 spot.  

Other First Team selections were Alabama’s State Marine Carter (6-0) at the No. 2 position and Grambling State’s Danna Galeano (3-2) at the No. 5 spot. 

The All-Conference selections consists of a 12-player team.  Members of the All-SWAC Team were decided based upon their conference records during regular season play of the combined two Round Ups that were hosted by Jackson State University from Feb. 24-25 and Alabama State University from March 17-18. 

For consideration, a female player must have finished a minimum of five matches at a particular position.  If athletes did not meet the match minimum, the player with the best record closest to the needed matches earned the award. 

Player of the Year and Freshman of the Year votes were tabulated from a cast of ballots received from the school’s sports information directors and head coaches.  The SWAC Coach of the Year will be given to the winner of the SWAC Championship. 

Women’s Tennis

Player of the Year: Tyler Smith, Jackson State

Freshman of the Year: Anastasia Vaganova, Alcorn State


First Team All-SWAC


No. 1 Tyler Smith, Jackson State

No. 2 Marine Cartier, Alabama State

No. 3 Sydney Thomas, Prairie View A&M

No. 4 Shaddae Finley, Prairie View A&M

No. 5 Anastasia Vaganova, Alcorn State

No. 6 Danna Galeano, Grambling State


No. 1 Tanaka Chakanyuka / Stephanie Mbaya, Southern

No. 2 Tyler Smith / Lucia Solio, Jackson State

No. 3 Dasha Butorina / Nina Zhang, Jackson State


Second Team All-SWAC


No. 1 Reka Szentes, Alcorn State

No. 2 Darnesha Moore, Southern

No. 3 Amirah Ali, Arkansas-Pine Bluff

No. 4 Tanaka Chakanyuka, Southern

No. 5 Nicki Neal, Southern

No. 6 Dasha Butorina, Jackson State


No. 1 Marine Cartier / Reka Szentes, Alabama State

No. 2 Rufaro Chirewa / Darnesha Moore, Southern 

No. 3 Danna Galeano / Anastaysa Reshetnikova, Grambling State