Alabama A&M
Alabama State
Alcorn State
Jackson State
Mississippi Valley State
Prairie View
Texas Southern
Arkansas-Pine Bluff
It's On Us Banner
Molten volleyball
Home Depot RYS 50K
2018 Toyota C-HR
Article Image
Courtesy: Clay Bailey

SWAC Men's Tennis Recaps: Semifinals

Courtesy: SWAC.org
Release: 04/15/2018
Print RSS

NEW ORLEANS, La.  – Alabama State and Jackson State will play for the SWAC Men’s Tennis Championship on Sunday.


Due to the lengthiness of Saturday’s semifinals matches, Sunday's SWAC tennis championship matches have pushed back their start times to 11 a.m (women) and 3 p.m. (estimated for men) at the City Park Tennis Center.

In the first semifinal, top-seeded Alabama State downed No. 4 Alcorn State (6-14) 4-2 at the 2018 Southwestern Athletic Conference (SWAC) Men’s Tennis Semifinals at the Hilton Riverside indoor tennis courts in New Orleans, La.  The venue moved indoors due to rain in the area.

The Hornets (10-9) will be seeking its second consecutive title and third in the past four years. 

Alabama State pushed through by displaying its depth from the middle to the back of its lineup with singles victories coming from the No. 3 through No. 5 spots.  Tomas Fernandez defeated Johnatan Parat 6-1, 7-6.  Alexis Collard followed with a 6-1, 7-5 victory against Ivan Matas and SWAC Freshman of the Year Chris Andre sealed the win with a 6-2, 6-1 triumph against Suyash Gupta.

The Hornets earned the doubles point with wins from Collard and Ion Efrim who topped the team of Kert Kilumets and Stojan Stojanovski 7-6 and Andre and Alejo Calvis, who beat Matas and Nuno Rocha 6-2.  The Braves top two singles players earned picked up victories with Kilumets defeating Efrim 6-3, 6-1 and Stojanovski getting by Carl-Louis Luckmann 6-4, 6-3.  The Braves finished their season at 6-14. 

In the second semifinal that began at 12:57 a.m., No. 5 Jackson State defeated No. 2 Prairie View A&M 4-2.  The match ended at 4:32 a.m.  

Winners for the Tigers included Joan Sanson, Andrey Alawi, Stylianos Gkontsaris in singles competition.  The doubles teams of Alawi and Gkontsaris as well as Fritz Jacobs and Federico Mendieta also won to claim the point. 

Jackson State is a four-time champion with their last title coming in 2016.