Alabama A&M
Alabama State
Alcorn State
Jackson State
Mississippi Valley State
Prairie View
Texas Southern
Arkansas-Pine Bluff
It's On Us Banner
Molten volleyball
Home Depot RYS 50K
2018 Toyota C-HR
Article Image
Courtesy: Alcorn State Sports Information

All-SWAC Men's Tennis Teams revealed

Courtesy: SWAC.org
Release: 04/12/2018
Print RSS

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. – The Southwestern Athletic Conference (SWAC) office revealed the 2018 All-SWAC Men's Tennis Teams on Thursday, one day prior to the start of the 2018 SWAC Tennis Championships that will be played on the grounds of the Pepsi Tennis Center in New Orleans, La.

Members of the All-Conference teams were decided upon by their conference records in singles and doubles competition. Ties were broken by considering a player’s position ranking with higher favorability granted to the higher seeded player.

The top 12 players in the conference were chosen as part of the All-Conference Team. In addition, the large individual award winners were announced for Freshman of the Year and the Player of the Year. The Coach of the Year award will be presented to the championship team’s head coach at the end of the SWAC Championship.

The men’s team comprised of players who went 48-5 in singles conference play. There were six players who went undefeated in singles conference play with at least four matches played including Carl Louis-Luckmann (4-0), Tomas Fernandez (5-0), Chris Andre (5-0), all of Alabama State, Kert Kilumets (4-0) of Alcorn State, Xavier Lawrence (6-0) of Prairie View A&M, and Sajid Rahman (4-0) of Arkansas-Pine Bluff.

Ion Efrim, of Alabama State, had several unfinished conference matches. But Efrim recorded a mark of 2-0 in conference singles play and equaled that record in conference doubles play to finish a perfect 4-0.

Alexis Collard (5-1) of Alabama State, Stojan Stojanovski (3-1) of Alcorn State, Stylianos Gkontsaris (3-1) of Jackson State, Kevin Ugarteche (4-1) of Prairie View A&M, and Simon Lewis (3-1) of Arkansas-Pine Bluff all finished with just one singles conference defeat to round out the All-Conference squad.

The 2018 Men’s Tennis Freshman of the Year was awarded to Andre of Alabama State, who closed out with an overall record of 7-1 in conference singles and doubles play combined. The Berlin, Germany native boasted a 8-3 overall record.

The 2018 Men’s Tennis Player of the Year award was Kilumets of Alcorn State, who finished another perfect conference season for matches in which he took the court. The senior from Kuressare, Estonia, was 4-0 in singles play at the No. 1 position and also went 2-0 at the No. 1 doubles spot to finish a combined 6-0.  

Men’s All-SWAC Tennis Team
Ion Efrim, Alabama State
Carl-Louis Luckmann, Alabama State
Tomas Fernandez, Alabama State
Alexis Collard, Alabama State
Chris Andre, Alabama State
Kert Kilumets, Alcorn State
Stojan Stojanovski, Alcorn State
Stylianos Gkontsaris, Jackson State
Kevin Ugarteche, Prairie View A&M
Xavier Lawrence, Prairie View A&M
Sajid Rahman, Arkansas-Pine Bluff
Simon Lewis, Arkansas-Pine Bluff

Men’s Freshman of the Year: Chris Andre, Alabama State

Men’s Player of the Year: Kert Kilumets, Alcorn State