Alabama A&M
Alabama State
Alcorn State
Jackson State
Mississippi Valley State
Prairie View
Texas Southern
Arkansas-Pine Bluff
It's On Us Banner
Molten volleyball
Home Depot RYS 50K
2018 Toyota C-HR
Article Image
Courtesy: Alcorn State Sports Information

All-SWAC Men’s Tennis teams released

Courtesy: SWAC.org
Release: 04/13/2017
Print RSS

BIRMINGHAM, AL – The 2017 All-SWAC Men’s Tennis Teams were released on Thursday by the conference office.

Jackson State earned the most recognition highlighted by four honors on the All-Conference Singles First Team and an additional pairing on the All-Conference Doubles First Team.

Andrey Alawi (4-1) made the No. 1 singles spot, Fritz Jacobs (3-1) was the top player at the No. 3 position while Stylianos Gkontsans (4-0 at the No. 5 position) and Vishu Prasad (4-0 at the No. 6 position) rounded out the All-SWAC Singles First Team.

Alawi and Federico Mendieta (5-0) partnered for the No. 2 Doubles First Team selection. 

Alcorn State secured two spots on the All-Conference First Team including the large individual award as Kert Kilumets was named the SWAC Men’s Tennis Player of the Year after running a combined record of 5-0 in conference play among two separate positions (2-0 at the No. 1 position and 3-0 at the No. 2 position).  Via the Player of the Year vote, he was also added to the No.  2 position for First Team.

The Braves’ Nischay Rawal (4-0) was named as the No. 4 Singles First Team selection.

Prairie View A&M’s Xavier Lawrence was named the SWAC Men’s Tennis Freshman of the Year. 

Alabama State had one player make the All-Conference First Team and a doubles pairing earn First Team recognition. 

Ion Efrim (4-0) held down the top spot at the Singles No. 2 position while Efrim and Takura Mlambo (6-0) were the No. 1 Doubles pair as well for the Hornets. 

The Alabama A&M team of Mateo Monroy Rueda and Carlos Salas were selected to the No. 3 Doubles First Team position. 

The All-Conference selections consists of a 12-player team.  Members of the All-SWAC Team were decided based upon their conference records during regular season play of the combined two Round Ups that were hosted by Jackson State University from Feb. 24-25 and Alabama State University from March 17-18. 

For consideration, male players were required to finish a minimum of four matches at a position in order to qualify.  If athletes did not meet the match minimum, the player with the best record closest to the needed matches earned the award. 

Player of the Year and Freshman of the Year votes were tabulated from a cast of ballots received from the school’s sports information directors and head coaches.  The SWAC Coach of the Year will be given to the winner of the SWAC Championship.

Men’s Tennis

Player of the Year: Kert Kilumets, Alcorn State

Freshman of the Year: Xavier Lawrence, Prairie View A&M


First Team All-SWAC


No. 1 Andrey Alawi, Jackson State

No. 2 Ion Efrim, Alabama State / Kert Kilumets, Alcorn State

No. 3 Fritz Jacobs, Jackson State

No. 4 Nischay Rawal, Alcorn State

No. 5 Stylianos Gkontsans, Jackson State

No. 6 Vishu Prasad, Jackson State



No. 1 Ion Efrim / Takura Mlambo, Alabama State

No. 2 Andrey Alawi / Federico Mendieta, Jackson State

No. 3 Mateo Monroy Rueda / Carlos Salas, Alabama A&M



Second Team All-SWAC


No. 1 Nishangan Nadaraja, Alabama A&M

No. 2 Ulrick Boyogueno, Prairie View A&M

No. 3 Sergio Avella, Prairie View A&M

No. 4 Aravind Vangala, Arkansas-Pine Bluff

No. 5 Ivan Matas, Alcorn State

No. 6 Zach Suico, Prairie View A&M



No. 1 Ulrick Boyogueno / Xavier Lawrence, Prairie View A&M

No. 2 Sergio Avella / Anirudh Yadav, Prairie View A&M

          Jualon Greig / Le’Darrien Ledbetter, Arkansas-Pine Bluff

No. 3 Freddy Quintero / Zachary Suico, Prairie View A&M


In which city where the SWAC doesn't currently hold a championship, would you like to see a conference championship held?
Shreveport, La.
Dallas, TX
Atlanta, Ga.
Little Rock, Ark.
Memphis, Tenn.
Gulf Shores, Ala.
Mobile, Ala.
Nashville, Tenn.