Alabama A&M
Alabama State
Alcorn State
Jackson State
Mississippi Valley State
Prairie View
Texas Southern
Arkansas-Pine Bluff
It's On Us Banner
Molten volleyball
Home Depot RYS 50K
2018 Toyota C-HR
Article Image
Courtesy: SWAC.org

Alabama State Claims Sixth Straight Men's Golf Title

Courtesy: SWAC.org
Release: 04/19/2017
Print RSS

ALEXANDRIA, La. – Alabama State captured its sixth consecutive SWAC men’s golf championship by firing a final round team score of 305 (891) on Wednesday.

The Hornets would shoot the same score as runner up Texas Southern who finished 13 shots behind.  Alcorn State finished in third, with a final round score 306 for a three round total of 911.   Prairie View A&M would place in fourth, after a final round 301 and would conclude the championship with a score of 929. 

Jackson State would finish in fifth, with a 339 final round.  Arkansas Pine Bluff would only have three golfers finish, and would not have its final round score count towards the team standings. 

On the individual side, Daniel Racioppa of Alcorn State, won low medalist honors.  He overcame a three-stroke deficit to win by one shot after a final round 73.  Kirabo Reed would fire a final round 77, to finish in second place, and one shot behind Racioppa.  Reed would claim the SWAC Freshman of the year award, for the lowest score by a freshman at 2-over-par.

Quincy Stith of Alabama State would place in third after a final round 74. Texas Southern junior Tom McLaughlin would shoot a final round 79 to finish in fourth.  Renior Knox, also of Texas Southern, Patricio Minondo of Alabama State and Kyle Smith of Texas Southern would finish in a tie for fifth to round out the top five.

Dr. Gary Grandison of Alabama State and Danny Forshey of Alcorn State were named SWAC Co-Coaches of the Year.

The All-Conference team was also announced.  The complete team is below.

First Team All-Conference

Daniel Racioppa (Alcorn State)

Kirabo Reed (Alabama State)

Quincy Stith (Alabama State)

Tom McLaughlin (Texas Southern)

Renior Knox (Texas Southern)

Second Team All-Conference

Patricio Minondo (Alabama State)

Kyle Smith (Texas Southern)

Charles Griffin Jr. (Alabama State)

Spencer Rhodes (Alcorn State)

John Jones (Prairie View A&M)