Alabama A&M
Alabama State
Alcorn State
Jackson State
Mississippi Valley State
Prairie View
Texas Southern
Arkansas-Pine Bluff
It's On Us Banner
Molten volleyball
Home Depot RYS 50K
2018 Toyota C-HR
Article Image
Courtesy: SWAC.org


Courtesy: SWAC.org
Release: 12/14/2017
Print RSS

ATLANTA, Ga. –  SWAC Football Champions Grambling State and MEAC Football Champions North Carolina A&T gathered in the Champions Circle for a special reception in honor of the Black College Football Hall of Fame (BCFHOF) class of 2018 on Thursday evening. Both teams received a private viewing of the facility in an event that was open to the public.

The seven inductees were displayed on a projector screen and were determined this past October by the BCFHOF Selection Committee among a field of 25 finalists.    The Class of 2018 includes SWAC alumni Harold Carmichael (Southern) and Everson Walls (Grambling State) as player inductees.

Other inductees include Raymond Chester (Morgan State), Thomas "Hollywood" Henderson (Langston University), Leo "Lincoln Locomotive" Lewis (Lincoln), Greg Lloyd (Fort Valley State) as player inductees,  and Coach Bill Hayes (Winston-Salem State and North Carolina A&T).   "This class represents three Super Bowl rings, 18 Pro Bowl selections and several Black College Football championships," said BCFHOF Co-Founder and 2011 Inductee Doug Williams. "Take a look at what they've done off the field as well, and each has earned this incredible honor."  

Votes were tallied from the 12-member Selection Committee, comprised of prominent journalists, commentators and historians, as well as former NFL General Managers and executives, and from previous BCFHOF inductees to determine the 2018 Inductees.    The Class of 2018 will be honored at the Ninth Annual Black College Football Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony, Presented by the Atlanta Falcons on February 10, 2018. The Induction Ceremony takes place at the College Football Hall of Fame in Atlanta, Georgia.   

The Inductees will also be recognized on ESPN at the Celebration Bowl in Atlanta on Saturday. The game will be broadcast on ABC beginning at noon ET/ 11 a.m. CT. 

For more information please visit www.BlackCollegeFootballHOF.org.

--Grambling State Sports Information contributed to this article



In which city where the SWAC doesn't currently hold a championship, would you like to see a conference championship held?
Shreveport, La.
Dallas, TX
Atlanta, Ga.
Little Rock, Ark.
Memphis, Tenn.
Gulf Shores, Ala.
Mobile, Ala.
Nashville, Tenn.