Alabama A&M
Alabama State
Alcorn State
Jackson State
Mississippi Valley State
Prairie View
Texas Southern
Arkansas-Pine Bluff
It's On Us Banner
Molten volleyball
Home Depot RYS 50K
2018 Toyota C-HR
Article Image
Courtesy: Chris Todd

Alabama State Wins SWAC Women's Golf Championship

Courtesy: SWAC.org
Release: 04/17/2018
Print RSS

ALEXANDRIA, La. – The Alabama State Lady Hornets captured its fifth SWAC women’s golf title in the last six seasons on Sunday, with a two day total of 626 strokes (+50). 

Texas Southern finished in second place with a two day total of 665 (+89).  Prairie View A&M finished in third place with a total of 700 (+124).  Alcorn State rounded out the team standings in fourth place, finishing with a two day total of 720 (+144). 

Chanelle Avaricio of the Lady Hornets was awarded low medalist honors.  The senior from Paranaque, Philippines beat out teammate Nia Station by one shot, finishing six over par for the tournament and a two day total of 150.  It was the fourth straight year Avaricio has won low medalist honors.

Station was named Freshman of the Year, finishing at +7 for the championship and made a late charge for low medalist, by shooting the low round of the day with a 74.

Amber Kuykendall of Texas Southern finished the event in third place finishing at fourteen over par.  Madison DeRousse of Alabama State finished the event in fourth place in a tie with Aubrianna Jordan. 

Quname Mhotsha of Alcorn State finished in sixth, and Jade McAlister of Alabama State finished in seventh.

Celeste Nawa of Alcorn State finished the event in eighth place, while Hilary Washington and Destany Hall of Texas Southern rounded out the top-ten.

Alabama State Head Coach Dr. Gary Grandison was named the 2018 SWAC Women’s Golf Coach of the Year. 

The All-Conference teams were also announced, the entire teams are below.

First Team All-Conference

Chanelle Avaricio (Alabama State)         

Nia Station (Alabama State)                         

Amber Kuykendall (Texas Southern)         

Aubrianna Jordan (Prairie View A&M)      

Madison DeRousse (Alabama State)    

Second Team All-Conference

Ouname Mhotsha (Alcorn State)           

Jada McAlister (Alabama State)   

Celestine Nawa (Alcorn State)  

Hillary Washington (Texas Southern)      

Shania Jones (Alabama State)