Alabama A&M
Alabama State
Alcorn State
Jackson State
Mississippi Valley State
Prairie View
Texas Southern
Arkansas-Pine Bluff
It's On Us Banner
Molten volleyball
Home Depot RYS 50K
2018 Toyota C-HR
Article Image
Courtesy: Chris Todd

Prairie View A&M Wins Men's Golf Title

Courtesy: SWAC.org
Release: 04/18/2018
Print RSS

ALEXANDRIA, La. – Prairie View A&M captured its first SWAC golf championship since 1979 on Wednesday at Oak Wing Golf Club in Alexandria, La., finishing with a team score of 891 (+27) and won by 31 shots.  This is the first SWAC title that the Panthers have won this academic year.

Alabama State finished the championship in second place, with a three day total of 922 (+58), Texas Southern came in third place, finishing with a three day total of 927 (+63). 

Alcorn State finished in fourth place in the team standings, and Arkansas Pine Bluff rounded out the team standings finishing in fifth.

Laurence Crea from Prairie View A&M won low medalist honors.  He shot a final round 77 to finish at four over par and win by one shot over teammate John Jones, who finished at five over for the tournament.

Zane Brooks of Prairie View A&M finished in third place, finishing at six over par for the tournament.  Alexandre Belanger of Alabama State finished in fourth at 12 over par.

Tom McLaughlin of Texas Southern and David Baker Jr. of Prairie View A&M rounded out the top five, finishing in a tie for fifth, which placed them both on All-SWAC first team.

Prairie View A&M head coach Kevin Jennings was named the men’s golf Coach of the Year.

Crea was also named the Freshman of the Year as the highest placing frshman in the field.

The All-SWAC Teams were also announced, which is below.

First Team All-Conference

Laurence Crea (Prairie View A&M)

Zane Brooks (Prairie View A&M)

John Jones (Prairie View A&M)

Alexandre Belanger (Alabama State)

Tom McLaughlin (Texas Southern)

David Baker Jr. (Prairie View A&M)

Second Team All-Conference

Lucas Elliott (Texas Southern)

Quincy Stith (Alabama State)

Noel Sims (Alabama State)

Mbongeni Maphosa (Alabama S