Alabama A&M
Alabama State
Alcorn State
Jackson State
Mississippi Valley State
Prairie View
Texas Southern
Arkansas-Pine Bluff
It's On Us Banner
Molten volleyball
Home Depot RYS 50K
2018 Toyota C-HR
Article Image
Courtesy: Intersport

MBB: SWAC tops America East in Dos Equis tourney

Courtesy: SWAC.org
Release: 04/01/2018
Print RSS

SAN ANTONIO, TX –  Today, the Big Ten Conference won the inaugural Dos Equis 3X3U National Championship at Bill Greehey Arena in San Antonio live on ESPN2. Indiana’s Robert Johnson, Purdue’s Vincent Edwards, Minnesota’s Nate Mason and Ohio State’s Jae’Sean Tate won the title and the $50,000 prize after defeating the Big West 21 to 13. Mason led the way for the Big Ten with nine points on 6-12 shooting, including three 2-point field goals.

The America East Conference, Big Ten Conference, Big West Conference, Ivy League, Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference, Southeastern Conference, Southwestern Athletic Conference and the West Coast Conference, each comprised of four seniors that have exhausted their collegiate eligibility, began the day after advancing to the Championship Bracket of the inaugural Dos Equis 3X3U National Championship.

The SWAC defeated the America East Conference in a quarterfinal 21-16 before bowing out to the Big Ten by a score of 20-16 in the semifinals and then dropped the third place game to the MEAC 21-15. The four players who represented the SWAC were Alcorn State’s A.J. Mosby, Jackson State’s Paris Collins, Texas Southern’s Donte Clark, and Southern’s Jared Sam.

The Championship Bracket results were as follows:


SWAC 21, America East 16

Big Ten 21, SEC 19

MEAC 21, West Coast 18

Big West 21, Ivy League 11



Big Ten 20, SWAC 16

Big West 21, MEAC 17


3rd Place            

MEAC 21, SWAC 15



Big Ten 21, Big West 13


Every game mattered in the Dos Equis 3X3U National Championship as money was on the line at all times throughout the competition. Participants received a total of $105,000 over three days of action. The prize pool was distributed as follows:

  • A pool play win earned the team $1,000.
  • The Big Ten, Big West, MEAC and SWAC each earned $1,000 for their quarterfinal wins.
  • The Big Ten and Big West each earned $1,000 for their semifinal wins.
  • The MEAC earned $1,000 for winning the third-place game.
  • The Big Ten earned $50,000 for winning the championship game.