Alabama A&M
Alabama State
Alcorn State
Jackson State
Mississippi Valley State
Prairie View
Texas Southern
Arkansas-Pine Bluff
It's On Us Banner
Molten volleyball
Home Depot RYS 50K
2018 Toyota C-HR
Article Image
Courtesy: SWAC.org

Hill named to Dawn Staley Award Mid-Season Watch List

Courtesy: SWAC.org
Release: 02/01/2018
Print RSS

PHILADELPHIA, Pa. - Grambling State University junior guard Shakyla Hill continues to receive national recognition as she was named on Thursday to the Dawn Staley Award Mid-Season Watch List

In its fifth season, the award recognizes the nation's best guard in Women's Division I college basketball, exemplified by skills that Staley possessed: ball handling, scoring, ability to distribute and will to win. Staley is currently the head coach at the University of South Carolina and played was a three-time All-America choice at the University of Virginia during her playing career (1989-92).

Hill, who surpassed the 1,000-point plateau against Alabama earlier this season, leads Grambling State at 13.8 points, 6.9 rebounds, 5.4 assists and 5.3 steals per game. She is shooting 45.9 percent (101-of-220) from the floor and averages 35.7 minutes per game. The Little Rock, Ark. native has 15 double-digit scoring games this season, with four 20-point games, four double-doubles and one quadruple-double, which was the fourth-ever in NCAA Division I women’s basketball history.

In addition, Hill ranks first in the Southwestern Athletic Conference (SWAC) in assists and steals, while second in the nation in steals and steals per game.

Four finalists will be announced in mid-March, with the winner be announced the weekend of the Final Four.

2018 Dawn Staley Award Mid-Season Watch List
Kelsey Mitchell, Ohio State University    
Tyasha Harris, University of South Carolina
Kia Nurse, University of Connecticut
Katie Lou Samuelson, University of Connecticut
Victoria Vivians, Mississippi State University
Morgan Williams, Mississippi State University
Jordin Canada, UCLA
Tyler Scaife, Rutgers University
Lexie Brown, Duke University
Arike Ogunbowale, University of Notre Dame
Asia Durr, University of Louisville
Shakyla Hill, Grambling State University
Chennedy Carter, Texas A&M University
Katelynn Flaherty, Michigan State University      
Sabrina Jonescu, Oregon State University