Alabama A&M
Alabama State
Alcorn State
Jackson State
Mississippi Valley State
Prairie View
Texas Southern
Arkansas-Pine Bluff
It's On Us Banner
Molten volleyball
Home Depot RYS 50K
2018 Toyota C-HR
Article Image
Courtesy: SWAC.org

SWAC Announces Soccer Postseason Honors

Courtesy: SWAC.org
Release: 11/01/2017
Print RSS

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. – Ariela Lewis of Alabama State, Mercedes Padilla of Alabama State, Gianna Guyot of Alabama State and Tammy Syron of Texas Southern earned individual honors as the Southwestern Athletic Conference announced the 2017 All-SWAC soccer teams and individual awards on Wednesday.  The honors were voted on by the league’s head coaches and sports information directors.

Lewis was named the Offensive Player of the Year.  This is the second consecutive season that Lewis was named SWAC Offensive Player of the Year.  Lewis led the conference in goals with 12, and was tied for the league lead in points with 26.  Lewis also ranked first in points per game this season, scoring 1.62 points per contest.

Padilla was named the conference’s Defensive Player of the Year.  Padilla helped lead a Lady Hornets back line that ranked first in goals against average in conference play.  Alabama State totaled a 0.70 GAA as a team this season.  The Lady Hornets also allowed the fewest goals in conference play, letting just seven shots find the back of the net.

Guyot was voted as the goalkeeper of the year.  Guyot led the league in goals against average in conference matches (.067) and save percentage (.875) this season.  Guyot also ranked tied for sixth in total saves in conference play, stopping 42 shots this season.

Syron was voted the Freshman of the Year.  Syron led the conference in save percentage (.793) and goals against average (1.05).  Syron also ranked second goals against average (0.73) and third in save percentage (.846) in conference matches this season.

Grambling State head coach Justin Wagar was voted the Coach of the Year.  Wagar turned around a program that won just one game in 2016.  He guided the Lady Tigers to a 7-2-1 record in conference play (9-7-1 overall) and earned the number two seed in the SWAC Soccer Tournament. 

Alabama State earned the most All-SWAC selections with five players, Howard had the second most players selected with four, Grambling State and Texas Southern each had three players earn recognition, Mississippi Valley State and Prairie View A&M each had two players selected and Alcorn State, Arkansas Pine Bluff and Alabama A&M each had one player earn All-SWAC recognition.

The 2017 individual award winners and All-SWAC teams are below.

Individual Awards

Offensive Player of the Year

Ariela Lewis (Alabama State)

Defensive Player of the Year

Mercedes Padilla (Alabama State)

Goalkeeper of the Year

Gianna Guyot (Alabama State)

Freshman of the Year

Tammy Syron (Texas Southern)

Coach of the Year

Justin Wagar (Grambling State)

First Team All-SWAC


Ariela Lewis (Alabama State)

Rita Okoro (Alcorn State)

Kela Gray (Howard)


Laadi Issaka (Mississippi Valley State)

Inma Martinez (Alabama State)

Kayla Smith (Texas Southern)

Noelle McCullom (Howard)


Mercedes Padilla (Alabama State)

Brittany Terry (Grambling State)

Brianna Norwood (Texas Southern)


Gianna Guyot (Alabama State)


Second Team All-SWAC


Lexi Krieger (Alabama State)

Paige Hayward (Texas Southern)

Kaylee Holt (Grambling State)


Blair Lane (Prairie View A&M)

Karissa Fenwick (Arkansas Pine Bluff)

Iris Torres (Alabama A&M)

Stephany Adomako (Mississippi Valley State)


Kendall Hamilton (Howard)

Haileigh Adams (Grambling State)

Alex Fields (Prairie View A&M)


Gabrielle Emilien (Howard)