Alabama A&M
Alabama State
Alcorn State
Jackson State
Mississippi Valley State
Prairie View
Texas Southern
Arkansas-Pine Bluff
It's On Us Banner
Molten volleyball
Home Depot RYS 50K
2018 Toyota C-HR
Article Image
Courtesy: SWAC.org

Seven SWAC players, one coach named to BOXTOROW All-American Team

Courtesy: SWAC.org
Release: 03/30/2017
Print RSS

With Final Four Week as the backdrop, BOXTOROW released its annual men’s Division I All-America teams.

Texas Southern coach Mike Davis and North Carolina Central coach LeVelle Moton were named BOXTOROW Co-Coaches of the Year.  Davis led the Tigers to the SWAC regular season and conference tournament championships.  The Tigers finished the season 23-12 and their NCAA Tournament appearance marked the Tigers’ third appearance, as well as their fourth SWAC regular season title in Davis’ five seasons as coach at TSU.

In eight seasons at the helm of his alma mater, Moton led the Eagles to their second MEAC Tournament championship.  In six seasons of MEAC play, the Eagles have won the MEAC regular season three times.  The Eagles finished the season 25-9.

Davis and Moton have now won the BOXTOROW Coach of the Year honors twice apiece.

Eleven schools are represented on the 2017 BOXTOROW Division I men’s college basketball All-America teams.  BOXTOROW has administered the All-America team since 2009.


First Team All-Americans

Phillip Carr, Morgan State (F, 6-8, Jr., Brooklyn, N.Y.)

Patrick Cole, North Carolina Central (G, 6-5, r-Sr., Newark, N.J.)

Tiwian Kendley, Morgan State (G, 6-5, Jr., Harlem, N.Y.)

Zach Lofton, Texas Southern (G, 6-3. r-Jr., St. Paul, Minn.)

Wayne Martin, Tennessee State (F, 6-7, r-Sr., Brooklyn, N.Y.)

Tahjere McCall, Tennessee State (G, r-Sr., Philadelphia. Pa.)

Shawn Prudhomme, Southern (F, 6-4, Sr., Beaumont, Texas)

Marcus Romain, Mississippi Valley State (G, 6-2, Sr., Brooklyn, N.Y.)

Jonathan Wade, Norfolk State (G, 6-4, r-Sr., Panama City, Fla.)


Second Team All-Americans

Bakari Copeland, Maryland Eastern Shore (F, 6-6, Sr., Decatur, Ga.)

Dajuan Graf, North Carolina Central (G, 6-0, r-Sr., Charlotte, N.C.)

Reginal Johnson, Alcorn State (F, 6-5, Jr., Monroe, La.)

Zaynah Robinson, Norfolk State (G, 5-11, Jr., Atlanta, Ga.)

Jared Sam, Southern (C, 6-9, Jr., Baton Rouge, La.)

Brandon Tabb, Bethune-Cookman (G/F, 6-5, Jr., Hampton, Va.)

Avery Ugba, Grambling State (C, 6-7, Jr., Silver Spring, Md.)

Marquis Vance, Alcorn State (F, 6-7, Sr., Tchula, Miss.)



BOXTOROW Player of the Year: Patrick Cole, North Carolina Central

BOXTOROW Coaches of the Year: Mike Davis, Texas Southern; LeVelle Moton, North Carolina Central


- See more at: http://boxtorow.com/2017/03/cole-named-boxtorow-player-of-the-year-all-american-team-announced/#sthash.jPL6kEIr.dpuf



In which city where the SWAC doesn't currently hold a championship, would you like to see a conference championship held?
Shreveport, La.
Dallas, TX
Atlanta, Ga.
Little Rock, Ark.
Memphis, Tenn.
Gulf Shores, Ala.
Mobile, Ala.
Nashville, Tenn.