Alabama A&M
Alabama State
Alcorn State
Jackson State
Mississippi Valley State
Prairie View
Texas Southern
Arkansas-Pine Bluff
It's On Us Banner
Molten volleyball
Home Depot RYS 50K
2018 Toyota C-HR
Article Image
Courtesy: SWAC.org

Grambling State Wins 2016 SWAC Championship

Courtesy: SWAC.org
Release: 10/21/2016
Print RSS

CLINTON, Miss. – With 35 points, Grambling State men’s cross country team won the Southwestern Athletic Conference Championship Friday at Choctaw Trails, successfully defending its 2015 title. Grambling was led by Hassan Chepkwony, who finished first with a time of 26:09.8. Chepkwony was also honored as 2016 Men's Cross Country Athlete of the Year.

Grambling State Head Coach Bertram Lovell was named SWAC Men’s Cross Country Coach of the Year.

Along with Chepkwony, Jackson State's James Curtis, Mississippi Valley's Aaron Albert and John Akakeya and Grambling's Noah Rugut earned first-team honors

Second-Team All-SWAC consisted of Texas Southern's D'Andre Lewis, Montieco Harris of Grambling, Arkansas-Pine Bluff's Wade Garner, Prairie View's Levante Williams and Texas Southern's Xavier Martinez.

In the team competition, Prairie View placed second with a score of 76, and Jackson State came in third with 92 points.

Men's Awards

Athlete of the Year: Hassan Chepkwony - Grambling State

Coach of the Year: Bertram Lovell - Grambling State

2016 All-SWAC Men's Cross Country - First Team

Name Team
Hassan Chepkwony Grambling State
James Curtis Jackson State
Aaron Albert Mississippi Valley State
Noah Rugut Grambling State
John Akakeya Mississippi Valley State


2016 All-SWAC Men's Cross Country - Second Team

Name Team
D'Andre Lewis Texas Southern
Montieco Harris Grambling State
Wade Garner Arkansas-Pine Bluff
Levante Williams Prairie View A&M
Xavier Martinez Texas Southern


SWAC XC Photo Gallery