Alabama A&M
Alabama State
Alcorn State
Jackson State
Mississippi Valley State
Prairie View
Texas Southern
Arkansas-Pine Bluff
It's On Us Banner
Molten volleyball
Home Depot RYS 50K
2018 Toyota C-HR
Article Image
Courtesy: SWAC.org

Alabama State wins 2016 Cross Country Title

Courtesy: SWAC.org
Release: 10/21/2016
Print RSS

CLINTON, Miss. – The Alabama State University women’s cross country team won its sixth-straight Southwestern Athletic Conference Championship Friday at Choctaw Trails.  The Hornets were led by Tatiana Etienne, who earned the top spot with a time of 18:32.9. Alabama State scored 35 points and sawt three runners claim top-5 showings.

Etienne's efforts earned her the 2016 SWAC Women's Runner of the Year honor, the thrird in a row for the Lady Hornets. Alabama State Head Coach Ritchie Beene was named SWAC Women’s Cross Country Coach of the Year.

Along with Etienne, MIssissippi Valley's Kemei Scholasticah, Alabama State's Arion Span and Janice Lane, and Grambling State's Halima Chepkwony earned first-team All-SWAC honors.

Second-Team All-SWAC consisted of Derica Pitters (MVSU), Mariah Stewart (Texas Southern), DeHavalan Watts (MVSU), Angelica Jacobs (Alcorn State) and Marlyn Campo (Texas Southern)

In the team competition, Mississippi Valley placed second with a score of 47, and Prairie View A&M finished third with 103 points.

Women's Awards

Athlete of the Year: Tatiana Etienne - Alabama State

Coach of the Year: Ritchie Beene - Alabama State

2016 All-SWAC Women's Cross Country - First Team

Name Team
Tatiana Etienne Alabama State
Kemei Scholasticah Mississippi Valley State
Arion Span Alabama State
Janice Lane Alabama State
Halima Chepkwony Grambling State


2016 All-SWAC Women's Cross Country - Second Team

Name Team
Derica Pitters Mississippi Valley State 
Mariah Stewart Texas Southern
DeHavalan Watts Mississippi Valley State
Angelica Jacobs Alcorn State
Marlyn Campa Texas Southern


 SWAC XC Photo Gallery