Alabama A&M
Alabama State
Alcorn State
Jackson State
Mississippi Valley State
Prairie View
Texas Southern
Arkansas-Pine Bluff
It's On Us Banner
Molten volleyball
Home Depot RYS 50K
2018 Toyota C-HR
Article Image
Courtesy: SWAC.org

SWAC Legends Enshrined into Black College Football HOF

Courtesy: SWAC.org
Release: 03/20/2014
Print RSS
ATLANTA, Ga. - Five football legends from the Southwestern Athletic Conference were inducted into the Black College Football Hall of Fame during its 5th Annual Enshrinement Ceremony presented by the Atlanta Falcons at the Loews Hotel.

The list of SWAC Hall of Fame enshrinees to inducted in March include: Robert Brazile (Jackson State), John Stallworth (Alabama A&M), Michael Strahan (Texas Southern), Willie Totten (Mississippi Valley State) and Marino Casem (Alcorn State - Alabama State - Southern).

They join Leroy Kelly (Morgan State) and Doug Wilkerson (North Carolina Central) as the fifth class to be inducted.

The SWAC representation now extends to 25 players inducted into the Black College Football Hall of Fame.

The list includes:

2013 Inductees:John Merritt (Jackson State - Tennessee State), Jackie Slater (Jackson State), Charlie Joiner (Grambling State), Ken Houston (Prairie View A&M), and Charles Brackins (Prairie View A&M).

2012 Inductees: Willie Brown (Grambling State), James Harris (Grambling State), Steve McNair (Alcorn State), and Willie Richardson (Jackson State).

2011 Inductees:Lem Barney (Jackson State), Mel Blount (Southern), Willie Davis (Grambling State), Doug Williams (Grambling State) and Collie J. Nicholson (Grambling State).

2010 Inductees: Eddie Robinson (Grambling State), Buck Buchanan (Grambling State), Deacon Jones (Mississippi valley State), Walter Payton (Jackson State), Jerry Rice (Mississippi Valley State) and Tank Younger (Grambling State).

“The history of Black College Football is compelling and must be shared,” said Atlanta Falcons Owner & Chairman Arthur Blank. “We are proud to support the Black College Football Hall of Fame, and we congratulate the Class of 2014.”

Robert Brazile played linebacker at Jackson State (1971-1974) and was inducted into SWAC Hall of Fame (1995) and Jackson State Hall of Fame (2003). He spent 10 seasons with the Houston Oilers (1975-1984) after being selected in first round as the sixth player overall (1975 NFL Draft). He was named 1975 NFL Defensive Rookie of the Year and was elected to seven NFL Pro Bowls. At the end of his career, he was named to 1970s NFL All-Decade Team and retired with 1,281 tackles which ranks second all-time in Oilers/Titans record book

John Stallworth was an extraordinary wide receiver during his tenure at Alabama A&M (1970-1973. He was picked by the Pittsburgh Steelers in the fourth round in the 1974 NFL Draft and spent 14 seasons with the organization. He played in six AFC Championships and won four Super Bowls (IX, X, XIII and XIV). Stallworth was elected to three Pro Bowls and was twice the Steelers MVP while scoring a touchdown in eight straight playoff games (NFL record). Among his accolades include NFL Comeback Player of the Year (1984), Steelers All-Time Team and 50th Season All-Time Team. He was inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame (2002).

Michael Strahan was SWAC Defensive MVP and two-time first team All Conference as a defensive end at Texas Southern University (1989-1992). He was selected Black College Defensive Player of the Year (1992) and holds TSU's sack record with 41.5 career sacks. he was selected by the New York Giants in the second round (40th pick) and played 15 seasons. he was selected to seven Pro Bowls, named All-Pro six times while capturing the NFL record for sacks in a season (22.5). He also spotlighted his career as NFL Defensive Player of the Year (2001) while leading the Giants to a Super Bowl XLII victory. He concluded his career and was named to all 2000s NFL All-Decade Team. He retired with 141.5 career sacks and his among the Giants' Ring of Honor. Strahan will be inducted to the Pro Football Hall of Fame in August.

Willie “Satellite” Totten played quarterback at Mississippi Valley State University (1982-1985) and was a first team All-American in 1984. He set more than 50 Division I-AA passing records with his Delta Devils averaging 59 points per game. Totten threw for a record 58 touchdowns in one year and was Division I-AA’s all-time leader and ranks second in career passing yards (12,711) and single-season passing yards (4,557 in 1984). Twice led the nation in passing efficiency and is inducted into College Football Hall of Fame (2005).

Marino “The Godfather” Casem was head coach at several SWAC schools leaving his legacy across the league. He guided Alabama State University (1963-1964), Alcorn State University (1964-1985), Southern University (1987, 1988, 1992) and won seven SWAC Championships at the helm of the Braves program. He led Alcorn State to four Black College National Champion titles (1968, 1969, 1974, 1984) with his 1984 team finishing as number one team in all of Division I-AA football, the first ever for a HBCU. He resigned from Alcorn State to become Athletic Director at Southern before receiving inuction into the College Football Hall of Fame (2003). His career coaching record includes 159 wins.