Alabama A&M
Alabama State
Alcorn State
Jackson State
Mississippi Valley State
Prairie View
Texas Southern
Arkansas-Pine Bluff
It's On Us Banner
Molten volleyball
Home Depot RYS 50K
2018 Toyota C-HR
Article Image
(L-R) Newcomer of the Year, Isaiah Crowell (Alabama State), Offensive Player of the Year, Rico Ricardson (Jackson State), Defensive Player of the Year, Brandon Thurmond (Arkansas-Pine Bluff) and Freshman of the Year, Johntae Hebert (Prairie View A&M), headline this year's 2012 All Southwestern Athletic Conference Football teams.
Courtesy: SWAC.org

SWAC Releases 2012 All-Conference Football Team

Courtesy: SWAC.org
Release: 12/04/2012
Print RSS

BIRMIMGHAM - The Southwestern Athletic Conference released its All-SWAC football teams for the 2012 season on Tuesday. The announcement kicked off the build-up to Saturday's Toyota SWAC Football Championship Game which will take place on Saturday at historic Legion Field.

Jackson State wide receiver Rico Richardson was named Offensive Player of the Year, while UAPB lineman Brandon Thurmond grabbed Defensive Player the Year honors.  Alabama State running back Isaiah Crowell was named Newcomer of the Year, while PVAM kick return specialist Johnta Hebert was named Freshman of the Year.

Richardson, a 2011 second team selection was the only receiver in the SWAC to gain over 1,000 yards receiving this season, The senior from Natchez, Miss. finished the regular season with 56 receptions for 1,081 yards which led the SWAC and is ranked 13th in the NCAA. He also led the conference in TD grabs with 10. He averaged 19.3 yards per catch and 98.3 per game also lead the SWAC.

Thurmond recorded 63 tackles, included 25 tackles for loss, ranking him second in the SWAC, second in NCAA (FCS). He led the nation in sacks with 16.5. In addition, Thurmond had one pass break-up, seven quarterback hurries, three recovered fumbles, one forced fumble and one blocked kick.

Crowell, a transfer from the University of Georgia, was third in the SWAC in rushing with 842 yards and posted four 100-yard rushing games. He scored a career-high 15 touchdowns which led the SWAC. Crowell.also caught 11 passes for 95 yards and scored at least one touchdown 10 times.

Hebert returned 49 kicks for 926 yards. He averaged 18.8 per kick which ranked him second in the SWAC. Hebert also returned one kickoff for a touchdow and led the SWAC with 121.7 all-purpose yards per game.

Overall, Western Division champion Arkansas-Pine Bluff led the way with 13 student-athletes selected, including seven first-team picks. Eastern Division champ Jackson State and Alabama State each placed seven on the teams, with ASU having six on the first team and JSU five. Mississippi Valley State and Prairie View had six apiece, while, Alabama A&M and Southern each placed five student-athletes on the list. Texas Southern rounded out the selections with one honoree.

The All-SWAC teams were selected by the head football coaches and SID's of the conference. The SWAC Coach of the Year is determined by the winner of the SWAC Championship Game and will be presented following Saturday's game at Birmingham's Legion Field.  Kickoff is set for 12:02 p.m. between Jackson State and Arkansas-Pine Bluff. The game will be broadcast live on ESPNU.

Offensive Player of the Year
Rico Richardson, SR, Jackson State

Defensive Player of the Year
Brandon Thurmond, SR, Arkansas-Pine Bluff

Newcomer of the Year
Isaiah Crowell, SO, Alabama State

Freshman of the Year
Johnta Hebert, Prairie View

All-SWAC 1st-team Offense
QB    Ben Anderson, SO, Arkansas-Pine Bluff
RB    Kaderius Lacey, SR, Alabama A&M
RB    Isaiah Crowell, SO, Alabama State
WR    Rico Richardson, SR, Jackson State
WR    Lee Doss, JR, Southern
TE    Dezmond Beverly, JR, Arkansas-Pine Bluff
OL    Terren Jones, SR, Alabama State
OL    Zion Pyatt, SR, Jackson State
OL    Stephen Capler, SR, Jackson State
OL    Christopher Wilson, SR, Arkansas-Pine Bluff
OL    Jamal Johnson-Webb, SR, Alabama A&M

All-SWAC 1st-team Defense
DL    Joseph LeBeau, SR, Jackson State
DL    Brandon Thurmond, SR, Arkansas-Pine Bluff
DL    Robert Simpson, JR, Mississippi Valley
DL    Jimmy Daniels, SR, Alabama State
LB    Brandon Roberts, SR, Alabama State
LB    Keven Woods, SR, Mississippi Valley
LB    Bill Ross, SR, Arkansas-Pine Bluff
DB    Kejuan Riley, SR, Alabama State
DB    Qua Cox, JR, Jackson State
DB    Vernon Marshall, SR, Alabama A&M
DB    Ryan Shaw, JR, Arkansas-Pine Bluff

All-SWAC 1st-team Specialists
PK    Tyler Strickland, Arkansas-Pine Bluff
P    Bobby Wenzig, JR, Alabama State
KR    Spencer Nelson, SR, Prairie View

All-SWAC 2nd-team Offense
QB     Dray Joseph, JR, Southern
RB    Justin Billings, JR, Arkansas-Pine Bluff
RB    Brandon Stansell, SR, Mississippi Valley
WR    T.C. McWilliams, SR, Alabama State
WR    Ladarius Eckwood, JR, Arkansas-Pine Bluff
TE    Bobby Goldsby, SR, Alabama A&M
OL    Chris Brown, SR, Southern
OL    Terron Armstead, SR, Arkansas-Pine Bluff
OL    Tre Glover, SO, Prairie View
OL    Kenny Eagle, Arkansas-Pine Bluff
OL    Jonathan Smith, SO, Jackson State

All-SWAC 2nd-team Defense
DL    Johnathan Billups, SR, Jackson State
DL    Robert Dorsey, SR, Arkansas-Pine Bluff
DL    Javaris Frtiz, SR, Mississippi Valley
DL    Preston Nelson, SR, Alabama A&M
LB    Anthony Balancier, JR, Southern
LB    Jerome Howard, SO, Prairie View
LB    Jer-ryan Harris, JR, Arkansas-Pine Bluff
DB    Vigil Williams, JR, Southern
DB    Marquez Floyd, SR, Mississippi Valley
DB    Brian Medlock, SR, Prairie View
DB    Carlos Hollis, SR, Mississippi Valley

All-SWAC 2nd-team Specialists
PK    Chris Barrick, SO, Prairie View
P    Robert Hersh, SR, Texas Southern
KR    Johnta Hebert, FR, Prairie View