Alabama A&M
Alabama State
Alcorn State
Jackson State
Mississippi Valley State
Prairie View
Texas Southern
Arkansas-Pine Bluff
It's On Us Banner
Molten volleyball
Home Depot RYS 50K
2018 Toyota C-HR
Article Image
(L-R) Robyn Shannon (Texas Southern), Christine Edwards (Jackson State), Luiza Griz (Alabama State) and Brooke Beasley (Alabama State) headline the 2012 All Southwestern Athletic Conference Volleyball Team.
Courtesy: SWAC.org

SWAC Announces 2012 Volleyball All-Conference Team

Courtesy: SWAC.org
Release: 11/16/2012
Print RSS
Birmingham, Ala. - The 2012 All-Southwestern Athletic Conference volleyball teams were announced on Friday. Fourteen players were chosen to represent the All-SWAC first and second teams along with four superlatives, Freshman of the Year, Defensive Player of the Year, Newcomer of the Year and Player of the Year.

The SWAC first team was dominated by the East Division as it had five of the seven selections. East division champion Jackson State and runner-up Alabama A&M, along with West Division runner-up Texas Southern with two players each selected to the first team.

Once again, JSU outside hitter Christine Edwards was joined by teammate Paige Williams (Middle Hitter/Blocker) the first team. Meanwhile, Alabama A&M preseason All-SWAC picks Clairissa Moore and (OH) and Ashley Forman (S) made the first team, while TSU duo Mona Reed (OH) and Veronica Azubuike (MH/MB) made the first team, along with Alabama State libero Luiza Griz, who was a preseason second team selection. Reed was a second team All-SWAC selection in 2011.

Prairie View had three players selected to the second team. Libero Shanice Faison, who earned All-SWAC honors in 2011, was joined by teammates Breanna McNeil (OH) and Kelsey Espinosa (S). Arkansas-Pine Bluff outside hitter Alicia Campbell returned to the All-SWAC second team after earning a spot in 2011. She was the lone UAPB selection on the 2012 All-SWAC teams. Alabama State had two players on the second team, outside hitter Chelsey Scott and middle hitter/blocker Myla Marshall, while middle hitter/blocker Mikayla Rolle added to the Jackson State list of honorees and capped off the SWAC second team.

Edwards, who was named Newcomer of the Year in 2011, earned SWAC Player of the Year honors after leading JSU to a second consecutive division title. Griz earned Defensive Player of the Year honors, while Robyn Shannon of Texas Southern was named Freshman of the Year and Brooke Beasley of Alabama State was selected as Newcomer of the Year.


OH - *Clairissa Moore, Alabama A&M, JR, Houston, Texas
OH - *@Mona Reed, Texas Southern, SO, Stafford, Texas
OH - *#Christine Edwards, Jackson State, SR, Lakewood, Calif.
MH/MB - *#Paige Williams, Jackson State, JR, Arlington, Texas
MH/MB - Veronica Azubuike, Texas Southern, JR, Arlington, Texas
LIB - **Luiza Griz, Alabama State, JR, Recife, Brazil
S - *Ashley Forman, Alabama A&M, SO, Columbus, Ga.

Player of the Year - $Christine Edwards (Jackson State)
Defensive Player of the Year - Luiza Griz (Alabama State)
Freshman of the Year - Robyn Shannon (Texas Southern)
Newcomer of the Year - Brooke Beasley (Alabama State)


OH - @Alicia Campbell, Arkansas-Pine Bluff, SO, Dallas, Texas
OH - **Breanna McNeil, Prairie View, SR, San Francisco, Calif.
OH - Chelsey Scott, Alabama State, FR, Enterprise, Ala.
MH/MB - Mikayla Rolle, Jackson State, FR, Burlington, Ky.
MH/MB - Myla Marshall, Alabama State, FR, Memphis, Tenn.
LIB - *@Shanica Faison  Prairie View, SO, Converse, Texas
S - Kelsey Espinosa, Prairie View, JR, Pflugerville, Texas

*2012 Preseason All-SWAC 1st team
**2012 Preseason All-SWAC 2nd team
#2011 All-SWAC 1st team
@2011 All-SWAC 2nd team
$2011 Newcomer of the Year