Alabama A&M
Alabama State
Alcorn State
Jackson State
Mississippi Valley State
Prairie View
Texas Southern
Arkansas-Pine Bluff
It's On Us Banner
Molten volleyball
Home Depot RYS 50K
2018 Toyota C-HR
Article Image
Courtesy: SWAC.org

Prairie View A&M Wins 2014 SWAC Championship

Courtesy: SWAC.org
Release: 10/27/2014
Print RSS

CLINTON, Miss. – Prairie View A&M University won the 2014 Southwestern Athletic Conference men’s cross country championship Monday morning at Choctaw Trails.  This is the first time since 2007 the Panthers have earned the title. They had four top 10 finishers with Sorone Batiste (Humble, Texas) winning the individual championship in a time of 26:36.84, averaging a 5:20 mile.

Head Coach Chris Clay was named the 2014 SWAC Coach of the Year.

Prairie View’s Jarrod Ballou (Katy, Texas) joined Batiste on the First-Team All-SWAC.  Texas Southern’s Jose Medina (Houston, Texas) and Isaac Romero (Harlingen, Texas), along with D’Ante Almo (Jackson, Miss.) from Jackson State also earned first team honors.

The second-time all-conference included Prairie View’s Aaron Austin (Cypress, Texas) and Syed Hussain (Katy, Texas), Grambling State’s Montieco Harris (Houston, Texas), Arkansas-Pine Bluff’s Matthew Agard (Brooklyn, N.Y.), and Andrew Coicou (Coatesville, Pa.) from Alabama State.

Texas Southern University finished second with 48 points, and Alabama State University closed out the top three at 84 points.

Men's Awards

Athlete of the Year: Sorone Batiste - Prairie View A&M

Coach of the Year: Chris Clay - Prairie View A&M

2014 All-SWAC Men's Cross Country - First Team

Name Team
Sorone Batiste Prairie View A&M
Jose Medina Texas Southern
Isaac Romero Texas Southern
Jarrod Ballou Prairie View A&M
D'Ante Almo Jackson State


2014 All-SWAC Men's Cross Country - Second Team

Name Team
Aaron Austin Prairie View A&M
Syed Hussain Prairie View A&M
Montieco Harris Grambling
Matthew Agard Arkansas-Pine Bluff
Andrew Coicou Alabama State