Championship Information

When: May 7-11
Where: Wilson Morgan Park

Pricing: Daily-$6 / Tournament-$20 / Children-$3 / Children Tournament-$10 

2014 SWAC Softball Tournament Release

Championship Central

2013 Championship Recap

Championship Schedule

Matchup Time Coverage
Wednesday, May 7

Game 1: W3 Prairie View A&M 11 vs. E2 Alabama St. 6

5:00 pm (F1) Recap
Game 2: E3 Miss. Valley St. 7 vs. W2 Southern 4 5:00 pm (F4) Recap
Game 3: E4 Alcorn St. 2 vs. W1 Texas Southern 10 7:00 pm (F1) Recap
Game 4: W4 Grambling St. 5 vs. E1 Jackson St. 10 7:00 pm (F4) Recap
Thursday, May 8
Game 5: Prairie View A&M 4 vs. Texas Southern 11 2:30 pm (F1) Recap
Game 6: Miss. Valley St. 8 vs. Jackson St. 7 2:30 pm (F4) Recap
Game 7: Alabama St. 21 vs. Alcorn St. 1 5:00 pm (F1) Recap
Game 8: Southern 12 vs. Grambling St. 7 5:00 pm (F4) Recap
Game 9: Prairie View 3 A&M vs. Alabama St. 2 7:30 pm (F1) Recap
Game 10: Jackson St. 14 vs. Southern 3 9:30 pm (F4) Recap
Saturday, May 10
Game 11: Texas Southern 5 vs. Prairie View A&M 2 2:00 pm (F4) Recap - Live on ESPN3 (tape delay on ESPNU 9pm CST)
Game 12: Miss. Valley St. 4 vs. Jackson St. 3 2:00 pm (F1) Recap
Sunday, May 11

Game 13: Texas Southern 6 vs. Miss. Valley St. 3

10:00 am (F4)


About Championship

The 2014 Southwestern Athletic Conference Softball Championship will take place May 7-11 in Decatur, AL at Wilson Morgan Park. This is the second year for the Decatur Morgan County Convention and Visitors Bureau and City of Decatur Parks and Recreation to host the tournament.

The top four finishers from the Eastern and Western Divisions qualify for the SWAC Softball Championship. The team with the highest won-lost percentage during Conference play receives the number one seed.

Last year, Mississippi Valley State claimed its eigth championship title in ten years. The devilettes won six consecutive titles from 2004 through 2009.

Championship History

Year Champion Runner-Up
1997 Alcorn State/Grambling State  
1998 Prairie View A&M  
1999 Southern Prairie View A&M
2000 Texas Southern  
2001 Grambling State  
2002 Alabama A&M Prairie View A&M
2003 Southern Prairie View A&M
2004 Mississippi Valley State Southern
2005 Mississippi Valley State Southern
2006 Mississippi Valley State Alcorn State
2007 Mississippi Valley State Southern
2008 Mississippi Valley State Southern
2009 Mississippi Valley State Southern
2010 Alcorn State Mississippi Valley State
2011 Jackson State Mississippi Valley State
2012 Mississippi Valley State Jackson State
2013 Mississippi Valley State Alabama State